Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   4-Cylinder Tech (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/4-cylinder-tech/)
-   -   Newb Intro / 1 Click No Start 95% of the time (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/4-cylinder-tech/92397-newb-intro-1-click-start-95-time.html)

RobG71 05-26-2013 06:23 PM

Newb Intro / 1 Click No Start 95% of the time

Hello,

My name is Rob and, as my signature says, I'm new to the Ranger but not new to having to wrench on older cars. Figured I'd make a profile here as this seems to be the main online Ranger community, I don't think I'll be doing a lot of customization to my truck, but it has been a solid and reliable vehicle for my family for the last 10 years (Dad's been driving it), I'd like to keep it that way, this latest issue has me wanting to light it on fire and roll it off a cliff whilst using it for target practice though lol...

Working on a 1994 2.3L manual trans, every once in awhile it will start with no problem, when it does, it's as normal as normal gets.

This started about 6 months ago and the truck has been parked since, the rest of the time, one click and then nothing, I will itemize the process I've done:

1. Check the battery. Seemed a bit low, put it on the charger for a few hours, got it up to 13.5v. Re-installed, same effect. Then took the battery to a local auto parts store, tested that it needed a charge but good. Odd because I had just charged it, took it to another store and they said the same thing. I initially suspected the battery was faulty, hence the 2nd opinion, it is apparently still good though.

2. Test starter, per the Chilton book, jump the starter mounted solenoid to the small "S" terminal on the fender mounted solenoid, clicked but did not crank.