Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   4-Cylinder Tech (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/4-cylinder-tech/)
-   -   How do I get more power out of my 2.5L?? (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/4-cylinder-tech/6566-power-2-5l.html)

RangeRZ08 01-23-2010 12:55 AM

How do I get more power out of my 2.5L??

I know this has probably been gone over a billion times but I'm a Ranger newbie and I tried the search function, but came up with nothing. It kept saying "no matches." I want to get more power out of my 2.5 without sacrificing reliability. What are some of the best 'bang for your buck' bolt-ons? Also, is there any parts that are interchangeable off of other engines that would produce better power?

Any and all input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Zach

BTW: The truck is a 2001 Reg. Cab 2wd short bed with a 5 speed

blue lightnin 01-23-2010 02:59 AM

i need to know too so help us both please

modelageek 01-23-2010 08:35 AM

I did the air box mod. it is free and takes 10 minutes. Definitely helped out some

FoMoCo 01-23-2010 09:46 AM

speaking from someone that had a 2001 2.5L, i really didn't find any bolt on for the 2.5, the airbox mod is about all you can do for performance, and it really doesn't do alot... when it comes to the 4 cyl rangers, we really do get the short end of the stick

rockwerks 01-23-2010 10:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FoMoCo (Post 56669)
speaking from someone that had a 2001 2.5L, i really didn't find any bolt on for the 2.5, the airbox mod is about all you can do for performance, and it really doesn't do alot... when it comes to the 4 cyl rangers, we really do get the short end of the stick

The keey is to make it breath better intake and exhaust free up flow and you improve performance

cold air intakes:

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/se...ake+Systems%29

exhaust system: http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/sk...%26+Drivetrain