Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   Exhaust and Mufflers (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/exhaust-and-mufflers/)
-   -   Straight piping the 3.0 - any last words? (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/exhaust-and-mufflers/33350-straight-piping-3-0-words.html)

VegasRanger02 05-11-2011 10:07 PM

Straight piping the 3.0 - any last words?

So this weekend, I surely hope, I will be installing my front end lift and my new headers. Since I am putting headers in, I feel I need it to be louder, and while I dont have the funds or time to get a flowmaster and get it welded up, I thought id just chop the muffler off right before it. The clips Ive seen on youtube sound pretty good, except at higher RPMs you just cant escape that V6 sound. Though, none of them really show it driving.. however Im a pretty sensible driver on the road (gas = $$$$) so I dont think itll be annoying the law anyways..

What are your experiences, will it be tooo loud? I might get a cheap clamp on turn down to attach to the pipe for the time being.

I guess worst case scenario would be go get a glass pack or flow master and put it in.

Mondonut619 05-11-2011 10:25 PM

Re: Straight piping the 3.0 - any last words?

wouldn't that throw off youre o2 censor burn out youre valves and in all fuck up your comp with inaccurate readings?

GGlighting 05-11-2011 10:26 PM

I was thinking about doing the same thing to my truck. I have a flowmaster triple chamber exhaust on my truck right now, but it is not as loud as I want it to be

POPTART972 05-11-2011 10:39 PM

Put a flowmaster on the 3.0 sounds super raspy not in a good way lol the 4.0 would be different but leave it until u get some sorta muffler..

VegasRanger02 05-11-2011 11:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mondonut619 (Post 419111)
wouldn't that throw off youre o2 censor burn out youre valves and in all fuck up your comp with inaccurate readings?