Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   Drivetrain Tech (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/drivetrain-tech/)
-   -   Hard to shift gears (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/drivetrain-tech/3301-hard-shift-gears.html)

scrillasherv 10-11-2009 06:51 PM

Hard to shift gears

Hello!

I am new to the forums. I've got a 2003 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab. I got it at 54k miles. Now I am at 69k and the the gears seem to be much harder to shift into. The 3rd gear has always been a bit notchy, but now I really need to push it into gear. Clutch never slips at all, never grinds. Just tough to push it into gear. Any suggestions as to what I should do? I have been looking around to learn how to replace the transmission fluid and possibly the slave cylinder? I am no mechanic, I've just searched online. Any advice anyone can give me would be great! Thank you!

96splash/09sport 10-11-2009 06:56 PM

check your fluid and add if needed.....if that dont help then take it to a mechanic

scrillasherv 10-11-2009 07:02 PM

Check which fluid? How should I do that?

96splash/09sport 10-11-2009 07:04 PM

the tranny fluid or grease there should be a plug on the side of tranny you unscrew to check the fluid...im not exactly sure were its at on rangers but its on the passenger side of the tranny

Clem 10-12-2009 07:35 AM

Have you noticed any oil spots under the truck?
You have a hydraulic clutch system, there is a little white reservoir on the drivers side engine compartment, probably close to or attached to the fire wall. Twist the cap off and gently remove the rubber cup in side, (be careful, the stuff in the reservoir is brake fluid and it WILL eat your paint if you get it on it) there should be about a quarter inch of fluid in the bottom.