Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   General Ford Ranger Discussion (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/general-ford-ranger-discussion/)
-   -   Petition to Bring the Global Diesel Ranger to America (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/general-ford-ranger-discussion/26456-petition-bring-global-diesel-ranger-america.html)

harshcougar 02-12-2011 05:27 PM

Petition to Bring the Global Diesel Ranger to America

Hi guys, my name is Chris DeMorro and I'm a freelance writer and diehard Ford enthusiast. I write about all kinds of different vehicles, and I'm very well rounded in my vehicular tastes; I'm as enthusiastic about muscle cars as I am about electric vehicles. I also love trucks, and while I was at the Detroit Auto Show Ford showed the press its new global Ranger.

It's got one of two diesel engines, up to 346 ft-lbs of torque, and the smaller diesel engine can get up to 650 miles on a 21 gallon tank. That works out to 30 mpg in an economical small(er) truck.

And Ford isn't bringing it to America, which I quite frankly think is bullshit. I've talked to some people at Ford, and they said to even consider it, the response would have to be "staggering."

Now I don't have to tell you that Ford plans to axe the Ranger and make the F-150 an entry-level truck. But if you're like me, you don't need a full-size truck, and 23 mpg just don't cut it. However, Ford is listening these days now more than it ever has, and I think if there is a chance, however slim, that we can get Ford to bring this diesel Ranger to America, well hell I just want to try.