Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   Audio / Video (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/audio-video/)
-   -   where to mount the fuse (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/audio-video/23379-mount-fuse.html)

seanpugs1990 12-30-2010 06:00 PM

where to mount the fuse
 
im in the process of hookin up my new subs and im wiring the power source to my amp and im just wondering where to mount the fuse on my truck

STL 12-30-2010 06:22 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Dont hook it to the battery. Hook it to one of the two available post on the dist box.


Here is mine tucked under the lip of the fender

http://i52.tinypic.com/2v7t54p.jpg

http://i54.tinypic.com/2hgtv2h.jpg

azgilamonster 12-30-2010 06:42 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Curious as to why not fuse off the battery? I ask because I bought a Xantrex power inverter SW600 says to come off the battery and do not come off any distribution points that are tied into vehicle harness to prevent damage to vehicle wiring .

tmoore78 12-30-2010 07:03 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
if you mount on the dist box then you will have all other power consuming devices drawing current along with your amp on the same wire, whereas mounting on the battery only provides one path for the amp to draw current. basically your not going from a small wire to a big wire and creating excess heat and power loss.

azgilamonster 12-30-2010 07:53 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Not to Jack this thread was just wanting more info
I guess an amp is different than a sine wave inverter hookup/?
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...ersw600001.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...ersw600002.jpg

ranger101 12-30-2010 08:02 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by STL (Post 281115)
Dont hook it to the battery. Hook it to one of the two available post on the dist box.


Here is mine tucked under the lip of the fender

http://i52.tinypic.com/2v7t54p.jpg

http://i54.tinypic.com/2hgtv2h.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmoore78 (Post 281145)
if you mount on the dist box then you will have all other power consuming devices drawing current along with your amp on the same wire, whereas mounting on the battery only provides one path for the amp to draw current. basically your not going from a small wire to a big wire and creating excess heat and power loss.

Both of these statements make NO sense. You realize what that wire that goes into the dist box is hooked up to don't you? The battery. Just hook the power wire to the battery, then about 6-8" away from the battery, put the fuse.

----------

Quote:

Originally Posted by azgilamonster (Post 281201)
Not to Jack this thread was just wanting more info
I guess an amp is different than a sine wave inverter hookup/?
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...ersw600001.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...ersw600002.jpg

Different in what way? How you hook it up? You can't power a subwoofer off of it if that's what you're asking.

buggman 12-30-2010 09:29 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
I've always ran a fuse within 12" of the battery terminal as per IASCCA (or however it's spelled) guidelines.... although my 1/0ga wire is more like 14" to 16" long before the fuse, due to where I wanted to mount it to the body & the lack of flexibility in the wire itself.

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u...atteryside.jpg

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u...audiofuse1.jpg

azgilamonster 12-30-2010 09:52 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger101 (Post 281212)
Both of these statements make NO sense. You realize what that wire that goes into the dist box is hooked up to don't you? The battery. Just hook the power wire to the battery, then about 6-8" away from the battery, put the fuse.

----------



Different in what way? How you hook it up? You can't power a subwoofer off of it if that's what you're asking.

NO , I did not think hooking up to a power source should or would have been any different, that is why the ? mark I do not or have never had an amp in any vehicle I've owned so as for as what I read here who knows maybe an amp gets wired off the dist. center?
don't know but I am going off the battery with an ANL DC fuse inline pos. side

ranger101 12-30-2010 10:08 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by azgilamonster (Post 281327)
NO , I did not think hooking up to a power source should or would have been any different, that is why the ? mark I do not or have never had an amp in any vehicle I've owned so as for as what I read here who knows maybe an amp gets wired off the dist. center?
don't know but I am going off the battery with an ANL DC fuse inline pos. side

An amp should not get hooked up from the dist. box post. There's no good reason for it at all.

tmbrockett 12-30-2010 10:27 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
i had mine wired up through the fuse box on my old car. never had any problems with that

ranger101 12-30-2010 10:42 PM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
It's not going to hurt anything. It just makes no sense. Why not just wire it to the battery? When you wire it to the dist box you're just adding ANOTHER thing to that wire coming from the battery. Why do that and potentially over heat that wire? When you could just hook it straight to the battery and not have anything to worry about.

STL 12-31-2010 02:51 AM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger101 (Post 281212)
Both of these statements make NO sense. You realize what that wire that goes into the dist box is hooked up to don't you? The battery. Just hook the power wire to the battery, then about 6-8" away from the battery, put the fuse.

I know it is connected to the battery. I was just told never to hook it directly to the battery post. I was just doing it as I was showed how.

tmoore78 12-31-2010 07:02 AM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger101 (Post 281376)
it's not going to hurt anything. It just makes no sense. Why not just wire it to the battery? When you wire it to the dist box you're just adding another thing to that wire coming from the battery. Why do that and potentially over heat that wire? When you could just hook it straight to the battery and not have anything to worry about.

x 2

ranger101 12-31-2010 07:08 AM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by STL (Post 281512)
I know it is connected to the battery. I was just told never to hook it directly to the battery post. I was just doing it as I was showed how.

If I were you, I'd move it. It's probably not hurting anything but just to be safe.. oh and how's the new box coming along?

STL 01-01-2011 06:41 AM

Re: where to mount the fuse
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger101 (Post 281544)
If I were you, I'd move it. It's probably not hurting anything but just to be safe.. oh and how's the new box coming along?

Been like that for 4 years so Im not worried

Box is done and it is freaking loud!!!!!!

I need to finish removing the passenger jump seat.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.