Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts!

Ford Ranger Forum - Forums for Ford Ranger enthusiasts! (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/)
-   Exterior Tech (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/exterior-tech/)
-   -   Camping/Trail Build: Widebeam Mounting, Lifting, Big Tires (http://www.fordrangerforum.com/exterior-tech/118978-camping-trail-build-widebeam-mounting-lifting-tires.html)

tcbaklash 09-28-2014 04:10 PM

Camping/Trail Build: Foglight Mounting, Lifting, Big Tires

Hello there. I just recently relocated to Washington and I'm planning on doing all sorts of outdoors-ey stuff like climbing Mt. Rainier, camping, and fishing. As a student, I'm dirt poor and my only option for an Adventuremobile that will reliably get me far into the wilderness is taking my 2003 2WD XLT and giving it some hiking boots. I've already got me a camper shell, necessary tools, and an emergency kit.

1. I need widebeam foglights for safety and recreation reasons.

Where do you guys usually mount 'em on the front-end? I'd prefer them to be subdued for durability (hit a deer first day I got to WA, the thing ruined my lower bumper). I was poking around behind the grille where that brace in front of the radiator is and figured that might be a valid spot to have them poking out below the bumper, but I just wanted to check in with you peeps.

I don't know where normally people plug these in and where the switches are easily put.

2. The truck is currently completely stock, that includes the wheels, which are fitted with dinky little road tires. At its current state, I have already run into some issues where the truck is not tall enough nor has the right tires to go through certain obstacles. I wanted to level out the truck, do a modest lift, and get me some bigger tires. But I honestly don't know where to start. I also need some ideas on where to put the spare.