PDA

View Full Version : My single cab box pics


tahenke
06-06-2010, 11:02 PM
Well I finally finished up my box. It fits 1 8" subwoofer. I'm using a Fosgate P2. I had to take all the pretty covering off of the magnet so it would fit. I didn't calculate the airspace because basically it's as big as I could possibly make it to fit all my stuff. I'll be using a Fosgate P2 8" sub; Fosgate OEQ1 13 band equalizer; and a Fosgate T400-4 amplifier. All this has to mounted back there. The flat space to the left is where the amp will mount and the small part under the drivers side rear speaker is where the EQ will go. That little part under the drivers side speaker is also part of the sub box (just to gain a little extra airspace. I made a small storage tray area out of the little dead space I had under where the amp will be mounted. The seats can also slide all the way back and recline all the way back without interfering with the sub and the armrest can move up and down without hitting the box. Also I still can get to my jack and tire changing tools! There is not much room in a single cab truck but I think I made the best use of the space :) I'll be finishing it up tomorrow with some spray on bedliner stuff. This will provide a nice OEM "plastic like" finish. I'll take more pics as it progresses.

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0021.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0020.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0019.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0022.jpg

STL
06-07-2010, 03:49 AM
Nice really good job

prestidigitizer
06-07-2010, 07:20 AM
Looks great so far!

05RangerEdge
06-07-2010, 07:45 AM
very clean! looks good

mjonesjr
06-07-2010, 08:14 AM
Looks good!

Now get it covered and post up some pictures.

Tom
06-07-2010, 11:37 PM
Looks really clean, I like it.

rangerhippie
06-08-2010, 01:04 AM
WOW! that looks really good!

Goose172
06-08-2010, 06:05 AM
Wow!.... Nice job!

tahenke
06-08-2010, 10:11 AM
Small update...The box volume is .30 cu. ft. which is the optimum size for a sealed enclosure for almost any modern 8" subwoofer. The woofer that I am using has a mounting depth of 4" and fits fine. I imagine with a small modification it can be made to fit a sub with a mounting depth of up to 4.5" at least. Also airspace could be increased approx. another .02 -.03 cu. ft. I don't know how the forum rules work on this but I was thinking of building a few of these and selling them? I will not put down a business name or a price just in case it is against the rules? I was just wondering if anyone would be interested? Moderators please, if I have broken any forum rules here I apologize in advance.

rangerhippie
06-08-2010, 12:22 PM
i think you'd have to make a thread in the for sale section, but i'd definately like to get one, i love that box!

tahenke
06-08-2010, 02:29 PM
i think you'd have to make a thread in the for sale section, but i'd definately like to get one, i love that box!

Thanks for that reply! So here is some updated pics with the finish on it. Came out really nice but I got a run. It was my first time using this kind of finish and it was windy out so I got to close :) When it cures I will sand out the runs and cover it again. I will make a couple over the next few weeks, put a finish on them and see if I can't sell them in the classifieds section as a feeler.

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0025.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0026.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0027.jpg
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z193/tahenke/CIMG0028-1.jpg

rangerhippie
06-08-2010, 02:39 PM
how deep is it? just wondering b/c i was wondering it its possible to mount a 10" in it. if it is maybe i could get you to do a custom design based on yours, just a few simple changes?

tahenke
06-08-2010, 04:16 PM
how deep is it? just wondering b/c i was wondering it its possible to mount a 10" in it. if it is maybe i could get you to do a custom design based on yours, just a few simple changes?

Right now that sub that I'm using has a 4" mounting depth (pretty deep for an 8) with a small modification I can get at least another 1/2" to make it 4.5" top mount depth. It's already big enough to fit a 10 but I could make it a tiny bit wider. I can just make the box and you could cut the hole out for whatever sub you want. Or I can cut it for you (no biggie). Most 10's don't have a mounting depth greater than 4". I think starting next weekend I'm going to pump out a few of these and see where it goes? :)

rangerhippie
06-08-2010, 08:45 PM
sounds good man. when you get them done let me know!

RangerTruck
06-12-2010, 09:20 AM
That's good handywork. Absolutely beautiful install too.