PDA

View Full Version : aftermarket headunit on tremor audio


d4sqd86
06-02-2009, 08:02 PM
So after a long search for the wiring harness for an 04 tremor series, i finally found it and should have it tomorrow...the question is for anyone with the truck or done an install on one...once the new head unit is hooked up will the sub still function as it does now??? ran into a similar setup on new cobalts, and the factory system still worked, but was told otherwise with this truck...any info is appreciated!

RangerGirl
06-03-2009, 08:21 AM
So let me understand what you are asking... you are putting an aftermarket radio in your truck which already has the Tremor system in it and you want to make sure the sub will still work? I don't know a lot about the Tremor system, so I'm not sure how the sub is hooked up now. Aftermarket head units typically have pre-amp sub outputs. They are just 1/4" jacks I believe. Does the Tremor system have an amp built into it somewhere? Just run the same wires that are on the Tremor system to the new head unit. My aftermarket radio runs to the amp first thru the cables then to the subs. Does yours have the same basic set up?

d4sqd86
06-03-2009, 08:55 AM
the system now is a full pioneer system with amp/sub settup....runs the standard 16 pin harness, but also has a mini 8 pin harness as well...the aftermarket harness thats being wired in has 2 sets of RCA's on it, and apparently 2 run the front speakers(assuming all 6) and the other 2 are for the sub/amp setup...did some more digging around to find out more about it...after all these years dealing with audio this truck is by far the worst setup ever...thank god its all comein out this winter

RangerJustin
06-03-2009, 10:25 AM
I have heard nothing but it being a PITA to work with the Tremor system. Hope it all comes together, but best bet would be tearing it all out. I think you can get good $ for that Tremor system if in include the sub and console it is in.

d4sqd86
06-03-2009, 11:48 AM
yeah its seeming to look that way...the harness had to be special ordered which is the worst part of it all...but that is the plan for now...headunit will be out as soon as the harness is here, and the sub/amp set up will be out of it soon after and hopefully get sold since i dont really want to just pitch it all...only thing left for the actual Tremor system would be the door speakers which more than likely wont be replaced for awhile since its a decent pioneer speaker....problem will be finding someone wanting to buy

RangerGirl
06-03-2009, 04:27 PM
Try Ebay for sure. Check and see if anyone else is selling them and what they are going for. I thought they were awesome when I saw them in the newer trucks. You never know. People will buy anything. It may be exactly what someone is looking for :)

d4sqd86
06-03-2009, 04:38 PM
yeah im in the process of that now actually...i just finally made it home from work and did a lil cleanin of the inside actually...rubber floors kickass til they get sand n dirt in em :(...im not a big fan on the Tremor myself, but i guess when ur use to have 2000 watts+ for a system that tiny thing just doesnt cut it..thanx for the input!

d4sqd86
06-16-2009, 08:43 PM
Just thought id do a little update...after a 2 week wait on getting just the harness itself in, finally got the headunit in! BUT theres more. Have to rewire all the door speakers, and also lost the function of the factory sub/amp setup(no big deal since im replacing that as well)... And heads up to anyone else with the TREMOR system, might wanna check the voice coils on the door speakers as well, factory headunit in and the coils have already started to burn up...so yet another addition that gets to be made

RangerJustin
06-16-2009, 09:07 PM
Yea I have heard only headaches with upgrading the Tremor package...good luck to ya man!

leviranger
02-27-2011, 08:36 AM
I would like to have that tremor stereo