Thread: 2/4 Drop?
View Single Post

Old 12-07-2013, 04:20 AM
Ford Tough

Default Re: 2/4 Drop?

Illusive had the best over all pricing for what I did.

I will say since I did the 3/4 drop on my splash (supposed to be 1" lower all around, but I'm not sure about the back) I have a few comments.

First you will find unless you heat and bend the flanges on the frame just above the axle you will bottom out more often. Don't bother with 3/4" bottoming cushions, take a sharpened putty knife and cut your OEM cushions in half on the truck - freebie. On the Splash with the flip kit the pinion is angled nose up about 7 degrees, I have a 6 degree shim plate I want to put in to get it down to a better angle.

If I had it to do over I'd go with a 2" rear drop using a set of drop shackles and do the shackle plate change for a 2-3" drop in the rear. With the 4" drop I went with a pair of Monroe 1990 Nissan D21 Hardbody air shocks to help since I already had the flip kit on and wasn't going to change it. With the air shocks at 40 psi the bottoming has been reduced tremendously and they will help when I load a bike or mulch in the bed. I also have a set of lift hangers that would raise the rear by 1" which would be good for more travel.

On the front, definitely go with a set of adjustable castor/camber bushings from NAPA. It allows the front end to be dialed in when aligned. I went with the 3" arms and new NAPA shocks (Monroes in a NAPA box) which was fine, but if you have the money do the best you can get. Good shocks are a good buy, learned that on motorcycles. Those nice shiny chrome shocks are about as good as screen door cushions, a $150 aftermarket shock is almost infinitely better and the $400-1000 shocks are better and multi-adjustable. Shocks are where costs are cut by manufacturers.

Here is my experience with beams, and it will hold partly true with springs because you need to remove the large nuts inside the spring that fasten the springs to the beam.